Command Blocks

Such an intricate part of Minecraft that it deserves a whole section dedicated to it. Post your most amazing Redstone creations here!

Post Permalink
by frogletts » 5/15/2013

I know a bit about command blocks, but is there any way to spawn mobs with a command block in certain locations? If so, how is the command used?

Thank You! :)
Level 4
Apprentice Engineer
Posts: 8
Joined: 4/30/13

Post Permalink
by Willsr71 » 5/15/2013

Nope. You can not use command blocks on mobs.
Image
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
Level 50
Grandmaster Technomancer
Posts: 249
Joined: 8/28/12
Location: Everywhere and Nowhere at the same time
Says: rm -rf / && echo Have a nice day. Good bye :)
Minecraft: kool357

Post Permalink
by TheMasterBlaster93 » 5/15/2013

now unless someone makes a mod/plugin for that there is really no way to do this
Image
User avatar
Level 24
Expert Geek
Posts: 39
Joined: 1/4/13
Minecraft: TheMasterBlaster

Post Permalink
by Falconblade99 » 5/15/2013

You can't spawn mobs with command blocks but you can edit mob spawners to do so. Check out SethBling's Youtube channel for videos and filters on how to do this. In particular the 'create spawners', 'change mob properties' 'change spawner properties' and 'create geared mobs' filters will help you edit and spawn mobs.
Image
User avatar
Level 20
Expert Architect
Posts: 188
Joined: 8/3/12
Says: How come everyone else can find something cool to say here?
Minecraft: Falconblade99
mc_server: I wish D:

Post Permalink
by revenge_racer » 5/15/2013

I don't believe so, but if you are interested in command blocks there are a lot of great tutorials for them on youtube and good info on minecraft wiki.
User avatar
Level 27
Expert Mountaineer
Posts: 230
Joined: 7/5/12
Location: Not where I should be.
Says: Nothing. I merely stare at you in silence, plotting your imminent demise. :D
Minecraft: revengeracer
mc_server: Mob arenas or Mithrintia

Post Permalink
by frogletts » 5/15/2013

Falconblade99 wrote:You can't spawn mobs with command blocks but you can edit mob spawners to do so. Check out SethBling's Youtube channel for videos and filters on how to do this. In particular the 'create spawners', 'change mob properties' 'change spawner properties' and 'create geared mobs' filters will help you edit and spawn mobs.


Thank you, I have seen the filters and used some of them, The geared mobs filter, I can only get it to spawn one mob and then that is it.
Level 4
Apprentice Engineer
Posts: 8
Joined: 4/30/13

Post Permalink
by LiquidChildren1 » 5/15/2013

If you need mobs to spawn with redstone, can you use dispensers?
Image
User avatar
Level 18
Journeyman Engineer
Posts: 743
Joined: 1/5/13

Post Permalink
by frogletts » 5/15/2013

LiquidChildren1 wrote:If you need mobs to spawn with redstone, can you use dispensers?


The only issues with dispensers would be that people can empty them out.
Level 4
Apprentice Engineer
Posts: 8
Joined: 4/30/13

Post Permalink
by LiquidChildren1 » 5/15/2013

That is true, but there are ways to prolong over usage, like a series of hoppers and a chest full of eggs, or if you are on a server, maybe a plugin that makes dispenser inventories infinite
Image
User avatar
Level 18
Journeyman Engineer
Posts: 743
Joined: 1/5/13

Post Permalink
by Wykleph » 5/23/2013

frogletts wrote:
LiquidChildren1 wrote:If you need mobs to spawn with redstone, can you use dispensers?


The only issues with dispensers would be that people can empty them out.


It can be done. I'm making a video on how to do it now
Level 6
Apprentice Engineer
Posts: 10
Joined: 2/16/13

Post Permalink
by La_Pixel » 5/23/2013

frogletts wrote:
LiquidChildren1 wrote:If you need mobs to spawn with redstone, can you use dispensers?


The only issues with dispensers would be that people can empty them out.


You can make them infinite...
Takes a bit of explaining so just wait for the previous guy's tutorial :)
Image
User avatar
Level 53
Grandmaster Unicorn
Posts: 749
Joined: 2/28/13
Location: tern erround o-o
Minecraft: gus1234567890
mc_server: mc.hypixel.net

Post Permalink
by Wykleph » 5/23/2013

Now as most people have tried to explain, there is no specific command. Others have mentioned people using up all the spawn eggs in the dispensers. Here is the tutorial on how to spawn mobs, but only allow a player to spawn them once. It also includes basic instructions on how to enable them to spawn them again after a specific amount of time.

Sorry it took so long, but i had problems recording the video. Followed by problems uploading....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4lKQ5cc1xu4

Hope you are able to use it :D
Level 6
Apprentice Engineer
Posts: 10
Joined: 2/16/13

Next

Return to Redstone